Ministry Experience

 

Since graduating from Liberty University in 1998, I have had the privilege of working in various forms of ministry. From being a middle and high school Bible teacher to being, a youth pastor and even combining the two positions. These roles provided me with the opportunity to develop the spiritual formation of today’s youth. Throughout this time, I knew that there was more in store for me as I continued throughout my spiritual journey.

The first ministry position I was in at Atlantic Shores Christian School was that of middle school Bible teacher. Here I had the privilege of teaching seventh and eighth grade Old and New Testament Survey. The depth of knowledge that I was able to gain expanded my understanding and provided me with the resources to develop true application principles for the students. I would definitely evaluate this period as one of growth for the students and myself as we journeyed through Scripture together.

The second ministry position I held was at Atlantic Shores Baptist Church, as the Assistant Youth Pastor. During this period, the church was going through a staffing change and the current Youth Pastor was moving to the Executive position. For six months, I was able to shepherd the student ministry through the Lord’s leading and the ministry grew tremendously, not only in numbers, but also in depth of surrender. After this time, the church brought in a new Youth Pastor that had a different perspective of ministry and I was let go. Overall, I would evaluate this period as a success, but also identify the amount of growth that was needed on my part to continue in ministry.

The third ministry position I was at Greenbrier Christian Academy as the Director of Middle School Discipleship and Activities (and High School Bible teacher). In this position, I was able to develop the discipleship program for the Middle School as well as oversee the chapel program. During this time, the students experienced various challenges that guided them into deeper surrender of their life to Christ. These challenges came through the chapel services, but also during the various small groups that developed over the years in this position. In addition, I was personally discipling a group of guys that were not the first choice of the High School Discipleship Director. The guys became an important aspect of my ministry and are still active in my life today. Overall, this time of ministry is probably my most fruitful experience thus far, but I know the Lord has tremendous plan ahead for me.

The forth ministry position I held was at Norfolk Christian School where I was the Middle School Chapel Coordinator (and Middle School Bible teacher). Like at Greenbrier, I oversaw that chapel services and revolutionized the school’s previous perspective of this weekly event. Taking the service from a joke filled one verse read time to a worshipful experience with meaningful preaching the students grew in leaps and bounds over the course of my tenure. This time of ministry is one I look back on as a success, but also felt the burden for more adult minded ministry opportunities.

The current area of ministry that I am in at Bayside Baptist Church is as the Volunteer Director of Small Groups. Although this is a volunteer position, I have the opportunity to influence the spiritual formation of the congregants. Through the semester based small groups system the congregants are able to pursue spiritual formation in various areas of their life. The development and implementation of the small groups has provided me with the opportunity to minister to the congregation through investing in their individual lives by developing their desire for personal spiritual renewal. Overall, this period has been challenging for me as the adults are not as easily motivated in their spiritual formation as their student counterparts. Yet, I know that through consistent offerings I am hopeful that they will grab ahold of their own spiritual formation.

 

